Probate Court Jurisdiction

According to the State of Connecticut publication “The Probate Court and You” the Probate Courts have jurisdiction over many matters

Connecticut is divided into 117 probate districts, each of which is presided over by a probate judge who is elected to office for a four-year term.

Probate Courts have jurisdiction over many matters:

1) probating wills and the administration of estates;

2) overseeing testamentary and living trusts;

3) determining title to real and personal property;

4) construing the meaning of wills and trusts;

5) appointing guardians for the mentally retarded;

6) appointing conservators of the person and the estate of incapable individuals;

7) committing those suffering from mental illness, alcoholism, or drug addiction to an appropriate facility;

8) removing unfit parents as guardians of their children;

9) terminating the parental rights of parents who cannot fulfill their parental responsibilities;

10) granting adoptions;

11) granting name changes;

12) other matters.

Sometimes the issues presented to the Probate Courts are complex and difficult. Therefore, it is important that you seek competent professional advice, so that your legal rights are fully protected.